Student Testimonials

Rebecca Wang – TV Production Intern @ DreamWorks Animation

Rebecca Wang
USC/DADA Student
TV Production Intern @ DreamWorks Animation

Rebecca’s Profile linkedin.com/in/rebeccajwang
Website rebeccajwang.com (Portfolio)

Taking Angie’s Introduction to 3D Animation class during my junior year of college at USC changed the entire course of my career. It was clear from the start that she was a veteran of her craft, but Angie’s teaching style shows that she’s also highly competent in teaching it. The way she broke down lesson plans and presentations suited both the experienced student animator as well as the inexperienced. The homework assignments were also tailored to the students’ skill levels and were broken down into varying levels of difficulty depending on the student.

Angie taught me everything I know about Maya, from pre-creating a set of phonemes for lip sync to customizing my shelves with shortcuts to the concepts of eye darts for conveying more realism.

What I love about Angie is that she constantly goes above and beyond what is expected out of a professor, without you even having to ask. She’s always willing to offer constructive feedback, help you troubleshoot bugs even though it isn’t her job to, or brainstorm more creative ways for you to enhance your scene…even if it means more work for her! It just goes to show that she’s not only incredibly passionate about animation, she’s also committed to her students’ success.

Angie was not only an incredible mentor and professor to me, she’s also an all-around wonderful human being. Even after I graduated, Angie continues to stay in touch, as a friend, and as a mentor. I highly recommend taking any opportunity to learn from her!

Alan Chung – Freelance Animator

Alan Chung
USC/DADA Student
Freelance Character Animator

Alan’s Profile linkedin.com/in/alanchunganimation
http://www.alan-chung.com/ (Website)

Angie was my professor and mentor at USC for 4 years and I have always learned something new from her each time. She is incredibly passionate about what she does and truly cares about her students’ success. Her lectures and presentations are incredibly well organized and she’s always willing to answer questions or help you in any way she can. She’s easy to talk to and offers constructive feedback with draw-overs that make learning much easier. As Angie’s student, you learn more than just being an animator, you learn about staging and intent behind the actions. A highly recommend learning from Angie!

June 8, 2017

Irene López Fernández – Freelance Animator

Irene López Fernández
iAnimate Student
Freelance Animator

Irene’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/irene-lopez-5335715
Website http://ireneanimates.com/

I liked my first workshop with Angie so much, I chose her again. Twice! Her classes were always very well prepared and organized and with her, you learn so much more than animation.
She has a vast knowledge and knows how to pass it on to her students and she also offers very valuable advice for life. I still have a lot of notes from her classes I frequently check and have found myself quoting her more than once. I loved how she understood everyone’s workflow and knew how to push each of us individually. She also keeps in touch with us after the class is finished, is easy to reach and very helpful if you need anything.
I even got a couple of freelance jobs thanks to her!
Irene López Fernández

Lorenzo Colaiori – Animator @ Riot Games

Lorenzo Colaiori
iAnimate Student
Animator presso Riot Games

Lorenzo’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/lorenzocolaiori
Websites vimeo.com/63656001 (Animation Reel)
soloproduction.it/ (SOLO Production)

Angie was my instructor for the first time in late 2011 for workshop 2. Since the very beginning it was clear that her animation knowledge was incredibly vast, but what was even more impressive was how good Angie was at communicating those notions to her (pretty inexperienced) students. I had such an amazing time with her on workshop 2 that I chose to have also workshop 4 with her.

After the second workshop with her, I was blown away. Angie went beyond my expectations on every aspect of her teaching. Everyone in our class improved drastically. To this day, 6 years after the first class with her, I’m using notions that she first introduced to me, changing my workflow and my approach towards animation for ever.

I wouldn’t be the animator that I am today if I wouldn’t have had the privilege to be one of Angie’s students.

 

June 6, 2017
Lorenzo Colaiori

Dusan Kerchov – Cutscene Artist/Rigger/Animator @ Mad Head Games

Dusan Kerchov
iAnimate Student
Cutscene Artist/Rigger/Animator @ Mad Head Games

Dusan’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/dusan-kerchov-8284b478

Angie was my mentor in iAnimate WS3 (Advanced Body Mechanics) and needless to say she was always there when I need consultation.  Even and after the workshop was finished we stayed in touch. The more important thing I learned during the workshop is real life advice that helped me so much to grow in my professional career, it can be summed up in one sentence: “When it doesn’t feel right, don’t be afraid to start over again”.

June 6, 2017

Dusan Kerchov

Hillary McCarthy – 3D Animator – The Mill

Hillary McCarthy
iAnimate Student
3D Animator – The Mill

Hillary’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/hillary-mccarthy-05a3b031
Website hillarymccarthy.com (Personal Website)

I had Angie for iAnimate Workshop 3. Whenever Angie looked at our work, she was truly excited about what we had done the past week and really positive, yet, she still gave really tough, truthful critiques. I think this is a really special and important approach because I’ve been in critiques where I’ve left with a litany of ways I’d “messed up” feeling defeated. Now that I’m working in the industry, I try to bring Angie’s mix of positivism, encouragement, and honesty into all my interactions with fellow artists.

June 5, 2017

Hillary McCarthy

Morag Wesselman – Animation Director @ FlickerLab

Morag Wesselman
iAnimate Student
Animation Director @ FlickerLab

Morag’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/moragwesselman

Angie was my instructor for WS4 Facial and Lipsync and it was such a pivotal experience.

She enriched my learning in so many ways, and the spectrum of knowledge she drew from to teach us was incredible.  Technically, she helped us set up our workspaces to maximize efficiency.  She taught us how to create a dynamite shelf and even gave us scripts that she uses in her own work.  In terms of storytelling and acting, she has so much great insight into psychology, and how it can be utilized to amplify a performance.  She taught us about pacing and extremes; how maximizing a quiet moment can exponentially magnify the payoff of a loud one after.  Today when I’m at work I often draw on these lessons, and it definitely helps me stand out.

Angie really has an understanding of her students’ instincts and abilities and was able to push our strengths while working on our weaknesses.  She was always incredibly encouraging; simultaneously she pushed us hard and made sure we never rested on any laurels.  I think something that really makes her stand out is that I could tell from the first lesson I had with her that she really, genuinely wanted me and all of my fellow classmates to succeed.  I think that in itself is worth taking her class, but on top of that, you find yourself learning from a seriously amazing animator with a ridiculous amount of knowledge.  I’m so glad I took her class.  I highly recommend it.

June 5, 2017

Morag Wesselman

Riccardo Pietracaprina – 3D Animator @ INDIEGALA s.r.l.

Riccardo Pietracaprina
iAnimate Student
3D Animator @ INDIEGALA s.r.l.

Riccardo’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/riccardo-pietracaprina-4b918353
Websites behance.net/riccapie (Portfolio)
vimeo.com/208793100 pw reel (Reel)

I got the chance to meet Angie at iAnimate, I was attending her course of Body Mechanics and she was my very first teacher. Moving on with studies, I understand how important she has been in my learning path and how she established my approach of “thinking animation.” Her lectures were super clear and well organized and they cover both side of computer animation, artistic and technical, showing (and sharing!) some useful tools, too. During the reviews she always pushed your works further, from scratch to the polished result, encouraging you week by week. The critiques were also clear and, in the mess of the Graph Editor and the Timeline of a newbie animator, she always finds the way to help you understand what’s wrong and what works. But, most of all, she puts such great energy and passion in every lecture and that, mainly when you are at the beginning and every single key seems awkward and wrong, is truly a boost!

June 4, 2017
Riccardo Pietracaprina

Tammy Smith – 3D Animator – Commercials @ MPC

Tammy Smith
iAnimate Student
3D Animator – Commercials @ MPC

Tammy’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/tammymation
Websites vimeo.com/user5455971  (Portfolio)

Angie is a terrific instructor, she gave great lectures that were well planned and really creatively thought out. Her personal reviews of my work were always very precise notes and it was easy to see where I needed to improve. Angie made iAnimate a very good experience and I connected to her process very well. She has experience with various pipelines feature work all the way to games, commercials and freelance work. The training I got with Angie has helped me so much with the fast pace of freelance commercial work.

June 4, 2017

Tammy Smith

Amitesh Nandan @ Character Animator at DQ Entertainmen

Amitesh Nandan
iAnimate Student
Character Animator at DQ Entertainment

Amitesh’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/amiteshnandan
Websites creatureanimator.com (Personal Website)

The first thing I would like to appreciate is your knowledge, patience, approach, and resources.  What you share is gold (still I go through the dropbox materials), And I have been trying to implement most of the things I have learned from those few classes I took with you. Sometimes when I used to get stuck while working on acting shots. I remember the example you said about “cleaning the garage” regarding workflow. Now, every time I see freshers animators struggling through their shots, I give them the same example and tell them to arrange and clean one part at a time. It’s all there, you just have to arrange the keys and put it back in a clean form.

Mam, you are always an inspiration and things you share are very informative. If possible, maybe in future, I want to work and learn beside you. (I know you have asked not to call you mam but by the first name. It’s the respect and tradition what we have been taught to give to our elders and teachers. Once there lived a famous poet here in India, who has said a story I would like to share. A teacher knocked on God’s doors. With seeing God he was overwhelmed and he quickly touched his teachers’ feet to thank him for giving the knowledge to recognize God.

June 3, 2017

Amitesh Nandan

David Mattock – Character Animator/Creative Director at Full Rotation

David Mattock
iAnimate Student
Character Animator/Creative Director at Full Rotation

David’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/davidmattock
Websites davidmattock.co.uk (Personal Website)
fullrotation.com/ (Company Website)
fullrotation.com/general-animation-showreel/ (Portfolio)

I was lucky to have Angie as my instructor at iAnimate workshop 5.  She taught me to push my animation and keep pushing.  Everything she suggested made so much sense and in turn taught me the things to look out for.   After my time with her I felt I had really improved, especially in the subtle secondary actions that make the character more believable.  All the lessons were packed with her knowledge and kept me interested, even a two-hour lecture just on eye movements!  I will ever be thankful for my time with Angie, it was eye opening.

June 2, 2017

David Mattock

Fabio Cavaliere – Freelance Character Animator

Fabio Cavaliere
iAnimate Student
Freelance Character Animator

Fabio’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/fabio-cavaliere-9b705a12

Well…I had sneak peaks at her class while I still was in fws02 and I had no doubt about choosing her for my fws03 class. I liked the way she organized class with her awesome pdf, videos and slides where everything is clear even if you have a rusty English… which I had at the time. She’s very passionate and exhaustive in her lectures, she always did draw overs on our movie files and she would look at Maya project as well if needed. Also, she laughs a lot and she always smiles. I still watch her classes from time to time because they are always fun and soooo useful.

Not only to me she was a good instructor, but also, she was sincere and tell me about a wrong idea or a gap I might have had to fill. I know It might be obvious, but it’s not. And that’s a really great quality that a student has to look for, because it helps you focus on your weaknesses so you can go forward and grow as animator.

I highly recommend having her as instructor.

June 2, 2017

Andres De los Rios – Animator @ MPC

Andres De los Rios
iAnimate Student
Animator @ MPC

Andres’ Profile linkedin.com/in/andresdelosrios
Website http://cargocollective.com/andresdelosrios

I had the pleasure to take IAnimate W4 with Angie, her experience and knowledge gives you the opportunity to feel like you are part of the industry every class and review, the shared lectures were great, you can feel her effort to prepare the contents for you to learn and enjoy being in class as well as doing your assignments at home. Punctual, enthusiastic and kindness, I really recommend Angie as an instructor for those who are looking for improve their animation skills.

June 2, 2017
Andres De los Rios

Gabriel Martinez Rodriguez – Animator en Illumiation Mac Guff

Gabriel Martinez Rodriguez
iAnimate Student
Animator en Illumiation Mac Guff

Gabriel’s Profile linkedin.com/in/gabimr
Websites https://youtu.be/NcVMaWD3FyQ (Personal Website)
gabriel34.blogspot.com/ (Blog)

I was so lucky with my instructors, especially with Angie Jones. She was my first instructor in IAnimate, in WS03. After that moment, I knew that Angie is an amazing animator and one of the best instructors that I could have. The classes were clear, with a lot of documentation, well organized and she never said, “it’s late” if you had any questions. I was so happy that I took WS04 and WS05 with her! She taught me to love the animation and how to push myself every day a little bit more. It was incredible studying with such an amazing instructor and better person. Even now, after years, if I write her, she always has time to help me. After IAnimate, I have worked in 3 feature films and in 3 tv series in different countries and with awesome people. Nowadays I’m working in Illumination Mac Guff, making the short films with Gru and all the minions…. for me it’s more than a dream come true. It has been hard to get here, but I’m so happy and, for me, it’s amazing to have offers from different studios.

June 2, 2017
Gabriel Martinez Rodriguez

Mable Tan – Freelance Animator

Mable Tan
iAnimate Student
Freelance Animator

Mable’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/tan-huichii-mable
Website https://vimeo.com/mabletan

Angie was my iAnimate Instructor in WS4 Facial and Lipsync. It was the first time I tried to act and shoot reference for animation assignment. Angie had given me a lot of encouragement and direction on how to shot reference with more confidence. She is a very passionate and out-going instructor, I have a lot of fun in her class. Through her class I learn to view animation from different perspective, adding more spices to my acting choices. Will definitely recommend Angie to anyone who wants to learn animation!

June 1, 2017

Steven Johnson – Character Animator @ Framestore

Steven Johnson
iAnimate Student
Character Animator @ Framestore

Steven R. V.’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/srvjohnson
Website srvjohnson.com

I had Angie as my instructor for iAnimate Workshop 5: Full Body Acting. She is hands down one of the best instructors I’ve had so far in my education in animation. She is so enthusiastic and passionate about the material, it is a pleasure watching her lectures. Her presentations are well organized, which makes it very easy to follow along and find exactly what you’re looking for if you decide to re-watch any of her lectures. A great thing about Angie is that she caters the lectures to the needs of the class and doesn’t mind revisiting a topic if need be.

Angie also gives really great, detailed critiques with draw-overs so you know exactly what you have to do in order to push your shots. She knows how to be encouraging while still managing to push and challenge you week in and week out.

Going into workshop 5, I was really struggling with my confidence as an animator and getting my body mechanics to a point where it didn’t distract from the acting. By the end of 14 weeks, she had helped me solidify a workflow that I continue to use and helped me break through any concerns I had with my body mechanics. I couldn’t recommend her more.

Mar 23, 2015
Steven Johnson

Tiffanie Mang – Designer and Style Artist @ BARTKRESA Design

Tiffanie Mang
USC/DADA Student
Designer and Style Artist @ BARTKRESA Design

Tiffanie’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/tiffanie-mang-15152247
Website tiffaniemang.com

Angie is hands down one of the best animation teachers at USC. She taught the class Intro to 3-D animation, which I was in. I personally struggle with Maya a lot, let alone animation, but with her classes and weekly lessons on a breakdown of movement for each part of the body, I not only learned a lot about Maya but refreshed so much on animation in general, that I felt like I improved a lot faster than usual. She is super enthusiastic all the time and makes each class as entertaining and fun as possible. She makes you want to work hard, gives honest, helpful critique, and pushes you to do your best work! Love her!

November 2, 2013

Tiffanie Mang

Anthony Kotowicz – 3D Artist – Animator @ Fuel VFX

Anthony Kotowicz
iAnimate Student
3D Artist – Animator Fuel VFX

Anthony’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/anthonykotowicz
Websites anthonykotowicz.com/  (Portfolio)
happemedium.com/  (Company Website)
vimeo.com/64480939  (Animation Showreel)

“I have been fortunate enough to have Angie for 2 workshops at iAnimate. Angie has experience most artists could only dream of making her an amazing teacher and I will never forget just how much I learned from her. Angie is knowledgeable and passionate about her craft and it shows through her lectures and by the patience and care she takes when critiquing her students work. Angie is highly personable while remaining ever-professional. She takes the time to get to know her students making the learning experience all the more personal – every lesson felt like one-on-one training. Angie is never judgmental and has the best sense of humor of any teacher, like, ever… One can tell Angie teaches because she actually enjoys it. She is an exceptional exception to the ‘rule’ that ‘those who can’t do, teach’ – Angie can do, does do AND still has time to teach. An amazing person. A great teacher. Simply, awesome!”

August 20, 2013

Anthony Kotowicz

Max Rubin – Motion Graphics Artist @ Socialtyze

Max Rubin
USC/DADA Student
Motion Graphics Artist @ Socialtyze

Max’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/maxrubin
Website maxamania.com  (Portfolio)

Angie is one of the best animation professors I’ve ever had, and she tries her hardest to teach students how to animate like professionals. She’s always willing to go out of her way to help a student who wants extra instruction or help on getting a certain shot right, and without Angie in my time at USC, I don’t think I’d have half the animation skill I have now.

As well as being a great instructor, Angie also has tons of teaching materials, whether it’s reference for facial expressions and acting, or great and useful lectures on the more detail-oriented or lesser-understood aspects of animation, such as eye direction, double-takes, and cinematic tension. Whenever I’m with her learning about animation, I’m always confident that I’m going to gain important lessons that I’ll utilize later in my own work.

Give this woman tenure, USC!

July 8, 2013

Max Rubin

Ashley Armstrong – Animator @ Warner Brothers Animation

Ashley Armstrong
USC/DADA Student
Animator @ Warner Brothers Animation

Ashley’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/ashley-armstrong-243aa750
Website ashleyarmstrongport.blogspot.com/ (Portfolio)

Angie Jones was an excellent instructor for Introduction to 3D Animation at the University of Southern California. She encouraged students to explore the fundamentals of animation and to learn the history of hyper-real animation. Additionally, Angie pushed students further than they originally felt possible in one semester—students started with just bouncing balls and were animating lip sync in less than 16 weeks!

She was always prepared for class with lessons that expanded on the week before and would go through helpful demos which taught students not just the fundamentals of animation, but also how to use the software to best achieve the correct feeling of movement. She would then individually help each student with in-depth instruction, taking into account each student’s interest and level. Angie would effectively teach by editing movement and timing, and draw motion paths to show students exactly how to improve their animation, but then would push them to repeat the steps so they could achieve that same effect themselves.

Additionally, Angie gave students practical advice for demo reels, informative tips on how to contact employers and write cover letters, and where to go to further improve one’s skill and knowledge in art and animation. She is always extremely supportive of her student’s dreams and aspirations, and does her best to move them one step closer to achieving those goals.

July 4, 2013

Ashley Armstrong

Brian Horgan – Independent Animation Professional

Brian Horgan
iAnimate Student
Independent Animation Professional

Brian’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/brian-horgan-a50b1221
Website graphite9.com

I have taken 3 character animation workshops with Angie at iAnimate and have benefited enormously from her wisdom, skill and razor sharp eye. She is a patient, enthusiastic and encouraging teacher and my understanding of animation has grown exponentially while studying with her. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to grow as an animator.

July 3, 2013

Emily Harrenstein – Animator @ Hardsuit Labs

Emily Harrenstein
iAnimate Student
Animator @ Hardsuit Labs

Emily’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/harrenstein
Website https://vimeo.com/user4312866

It was an honor to be able to have Angie as a teacher at iAnimate. She helped me to grow as an animator more than I thought possible over the course of just a few months. She was always prepared for our lessons with planned out outlines of what she would cover. Angie would tailor her lectures around questions that her students asked as well as incorporating things that she thought was important for us to know. Angie’s critique sessions were very helpful and encouraging. She was not afraid to push us and teach us how our animations could be stronger. She was extremely encouraging towards us and would be ecstatic whenever our progress was successful. I would be lucky to have her again as a mentor in the future.

October 16, 2011

Emily Harrenstein

Chris McCormick – Cinematics Animator @ Blizzard Entertainment

Chris McCormick
iAnimate Student
Cinematics Animator @ Blizzard Entertainment

Chris’ Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/mccormickanimation
Website vimeo.com/chrismccormick (Vimeo Channel)

I recently had the privilege of being Angie’s student in iAnimate.net’s Facial Acting And Lip Sync class. I can say with certainty that I experienced my greatest ever degree of growth as an animator under her watchful and caring eyes – far surpassing my previous four years of undergraduate study. I cannot recommend her enough as an instructor, or as a personal mentor.

August 14, 2011

Chris McCormick

Mike Woosang Kim Animator @ Particle City

Mike Woosang Kim
Animator @ Particle City
iAnimate Student

Mike Woosang’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/mike-woosang-kim-1986536
Website nice3dcom.blogspot.com/ (Blog)

I would like to recommend Angie. I learned so much from her. She is friendly, knowledgeable, and encouraged me to do my best work. Amazing mentor and passion. Not enough good words can be said.

August 13, 2011

Mike Woosang Kim

Sebastien Dussault – 3D @ Animator Ubisoft Quebec

Sebastien Dussault
iAnimate Student
3D Animator Ubisoft Quebec

Sebastien’s Linkedin Profile linkedin.com/in/sebastien-dussault
Websites sebastiendussault.ca (Personal Website)
vimeo.com/sebastiendussault (Portfolio)

Entering iAnimate, I was expecting a lot from this workshop and Angie has managed to exceed those expectations. Her knowledge of animation and acting seems limitless and she manages to distill that information down to a point that it’s really easy to understand and incorporate in our own shots. Her enthusiasm, critical eye, and her entertaining lectures have really helped me grow as an animator.

 August 12, 2011

Sebastien Dussault
(Visited 68 times, 1 visits today)